This iconic building was built in 1888 when "Marvellous Melbourne" was one of the most prosperous and recognisable cities in the world. Located on the south-west corner of Collins Street and King Streets, it was originally a hotel without a liquor licence and operated as a coffee hotel, similar to a number of other large hotels in the city. Over a million bricks were used in its construction. Sadly the building was demolished in 1976.
All text © HotPress
Photograph attributed to John William Lindt.
Notes from the State Library tell us that this image is "View looking across intersection to a large building, men working on the electrical poles, other people on the footpaths."
This is a digitally retouched reproduction of the original held by the State Library of Victoria. All prints are reproduced without the HOTPRESS watermarks.
Our team of conservators have worked on a high resolution digital image in order to remove blemishes and artifacts such as stains, mould, scratches and damage caused by the handling of the original. We strive to provide authentic representations of the original work that are suitable for enlargements that retain the tones and character of the original.